Relax, Don’t Worry, Have a Homebrew

One man’s journey to create the perfect beer…

Getting into the Holiday Spirit

Posted by ebrius on October 7, 2008

It might be a little early to be thinking about Christmas, but not too early to brew a Christmas Ale. For my third brew I decided to go with a dark, balanced ale with Christmas Spices added. In tribute to Sam Adams, I’ve nicknamed it New Fezziwig Ale

7lb  Dry Dark Malt Extract
3lb  Honey

.5lb Chocolate Malt
.5lb Crystal Malt (80-L)
.5lb Black Patent Malt

1oz  Chinook    @ 60
1oz  Willamette @ 30
1oz  Willamette @ 10

All Steeped for 30 minutes after flame out
1 oz Ginger, Grated
3 Oranges, Peeled and Quartered
3 Cinnamon Sticks
2 Whole Nutmegs
6 Whole Cloves

Other:
1 tsp Irish Moss @ 30

Yeast:
Wyeast British Ale 1098

Priming Sugar:
Molasses

OG: 1.08, Expected FG: 1.02, FG: ?, ABV: ?
Brewed:  9/21/08
Moved:   ?
Bottled: ?
Tasted:  ?

Brewing went as expected, the only issue was that I added the honey too early and probably killed any flavor it would add. The next time I brew with honey I’ll probably add it right after flame out
I’ve only faced one problem with this brew so far. About 24 hours in I went to check on the progress, I immediately knew something was wrong when I could smell the beer as I approached the container. Apparently I had some very healthy yeast on my hand, it managed to fill the extra 2 or so gallons in the container and leach out of the airlock! So, I removed the cover, cleaned and sanitized it, and refiled the airlock. This has not effected anything so far, in fact, I took a gravity measurement about a week in and it was down to 1.020, which is exactly what I wanted. The beer also smelt very good, the aroma from the orange and cinnamon was very refreshing.

Leave a Reply

 
