Relax, Don’t Worry, Have a Homebrew

One man’s journey to create the perfect beer…

Update: New Fezziwig Ale

Posted by ebrius on October 9, 2008

I moved my Christmas Ale into the secondary last night, and I have to say, the results from the beer are interesting.
1) Its darker then i would have wanted, its more of a dark brown and I would have liked more of an amber color. Next time I will probably not use any Black Pentant (or less then .5lb) and use a light DME as a base instead of a dark DME.
2) The aroma is amazing, it smells like Christmas. The combination of the Chinook and Willamette hops with the spices is heavenly.
3) The taste, and I know it hasn’t aged yet, is OK. Next time I will definitely add some more hops for bittering, maybe .5oz of Cascade or so. I’ll probably use more cinnamon, and maybe cut the ginger.

All that being said, I am very pleased with this beer so far, it got down to the exact gravity I wanted (1.020), and the beer was surprising clean, its amazing how much of a difference liquid yeast makes over dry yeast.

Leave a Reply

 
