Relax, Don’t Worry, Have a Homebrew

One man’s journey to create the perfect beer…

Next Up, Brown Ale

Posted by ebrius on October 15, 2008

I’m starting to run low on Pale Ales, so I am soon going to need a beer to replace it. My stout is far from drinkable on a regular basis, and I have a feeling the Christmas Ale is going to be the same way. The IPA will probably be drinkable, but I went a little overboard on the hops, and I don’t know how well it will pair with food. So, that brings me to my Brown Ale, this ale will have a rather low ABV (for my beers at least) of about 4.8 and an IBU of about 30, so it won’t be as hoppy or alcoholic as my other beers. If this one turns out good, I might start making alternating batches of this, and a revised version of my pale ale, to have for day to day drinking.

I’ve made some small revisions to recipe, mainly changed the hop bill around since I don’t know if I will be able to get a hold of Kent Goldings hops

5lb  Light Dry Malt Extract

1lb   Victory Malt
.25lb Chocolate Malt
.25lb Canadian Honey Malt
.25lb Crystal 20L
.25lb Crystal 40L
.25lb Crystal 60L
.25lb Crystal 80L

.5oz Northern Brewer @ 60
1oz  Fuggles         @ 30
.5oz Northern Brewer @ 10

Yeast:
White Labs English Ale WLP002

Expected:
OG:  1.050
FG:  1.013
IBU: 31
ABV: 4.8 %
SRM: 16
Leave a Reply

 
