Relax, Don’t Worry, Have a Homebrew

One man’s journey to create the perfect beer…

Revisiting the Barleywine

Posted by ebrius on October 17, 2008

I’ve been looking around for a nice oak cask to put this beer into and I’ve started to realize something, oak casks are expensive, for some reason I can’t find the cask that I found for $100, most are around $200+. But beyond that, I don’t want my beer to end up tasting like wood, and I have no real way to control the amount of oak flavor without switching containers. What I think I might do is get a smaller glass carboy and use that as a secondary. I’ll put some oak cubes in some cheese cloth and let it soak in there for about a week and then take it out. That will (hopefully) let me get the nice oak flavor without the hassles of dealing with a cask. I’ll probably end up soaking the cubes in bourbon or something in order to add a little extra flavor and sanitize the cubes.

Leave a Reply

 
