Relax, Don’t Worry, Have a Homebrew

One man’s journey to create the perfect beer…

Review: Crazy Ivan Russian Imperial Stout

Posted by ebrius on October 22, 2008

My Stout has been aging for about three weeks now, so I figured it was time for a proper review, mostly so I remember how the recipe turned out, but also for anyone interested in replicating my success/failure.

Appearance) Dark as midnight with a small brown head. Head dissipated quickly.

Aroma) Coffee and chocolate, slight alcohol aroma, Slightly yeasty

Taste) Bam, chocolate and coffee, as with the odor, very little bitterness, actually, very sweet and almost chewy. Finishes with an alcohol taste and a sweet aftertaste.

Mouthfeel) Chewy and lightly carbonated. Very smooth.

Overall, I am very happy with this beer. Could use a little more bitterness. Next time I will probably add more bittering hops, and some aroma as well. I’ll stick with adding the coffee, but I might only do it in the primary. I’ll also make sure to use liquid yeast. Probably also some more black patent to make this a very strong and unique stout.

Leave a Reply

 
