Relax, Don’t Worry, Have a Homebrew

One man’s journey to create the perfect beer…

Next Time, Add The Onion Powder

Posted by ebrius on October 28, 2008

Further expanding my cooking with beer, I decided to make a BBQ sauce with beer. The recipe I started with was taken directly from Breckenridge Brewery’s Website:

  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1/4 cup mustard
  • 1/2 cup chili sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup powdered onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 cup Breckenridge Oatmeal Stout

Since I didn’t have some of these ingredients, I modified it slightly, my recipe was as follows:

  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 2 tsb dry mustard
  • 2 tbsp White Vinegar
  • 1 tbsp ketchup
  • 1 tsb Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsb garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsb salt
  • 1/4 tsb pepper
  • 1/2 cup Crazy Ivan Russian Stout

I brought this to a boil and then let it simmer for about 15 minutes. Once it cooled I added some corn starch to it and brought it to a boil again to thicken it. I then added it to a bag of chicken and let it marinate for about 30 minutes. I cooked the chicken in a large skillet with the sauce on top. Oddly, this sauce tasted like a bbq sauce before I cooked it, but it tasted more like a teriyaki sauce after. It was definitely very good, and the malty flavor of the beer was actually noticeable, I was very happy with it. I’ll probably pick up some onion powder and some chili sauce for the next time I make this, so it actually tastes like a BBQ sauce.

One Response to “Next Time, Add The Onion Powder”

  1. […] Further expanding my cooking with beer, I decided to make a BBQ sauce with beer. The recipe I started with was taken directly from Breckenridge Brewery’s Website:. 1/2 cup molasses; 1/4 cup mustard; 1/2 cup chili sauce … Next Time, Add The Onion Powder […]

Leave a Reply

 
