Relax, Don’t Worry, Have a Homebrew

One man’s journey to create the perfect beer…

New Fezziwig Ale, Take 3

Posted by ebrius on November 6, 2008

I tried my Christmas Ale again, and I don’t know what I was expecting, but it was simply too bitter, so I’ve decided to go in another direction, I guess this would be a mix between a sweet stout and a spiced ale.

Malt:
8lb   Light Dry Malt Extract
6oz   Lactose

1lb   Munich Light
.5lb  Canadian Honey Malt
.5lb  Crystal 40
.5lb  Crystal 80
.25lb Chocolate Malt

Hops:
1oz Fuggles         @ 60
1oz Northern Brewer @ 30
1oz Northern Brewer @ 10
1oz Saaz            @ DH

Steeped for 30 minutes after flame out:
5 Cinnamon Sticks
Orange Peels
1 Whole Nutmegs
1 tsb Allspice

Other:
2tbs Vanilla Extract @ Secondary
Handful of Oak Cubes soaked in bourbon, one week in secondary

Yeast:
Wyeast Scottish Ale 1728

I have plenty of time to continue to work on this recipe. I think I will let this one bottle condition for at least two months, so I probably should start it sometime in August. Plenty of time.

Leave a Reply

 
