Relax, Don’t Worry, Have a Homebrew

One man’s journey to create the perfect beer…

Brown moved to secondary

Posted by ebrius on November 19, 2008

I moved my Brown Ale to my secondary container over the weekend, and even though the gravity reached about what I was expecting (~ 1.015), fermentation started up soon as I put the airlock in. This beer is probably going to be a little drier then I was expecting.

I took a taste of it and it was rather unremarkable. I’ve learned not to expect much before a beer bottle conditions, but I’ve been giving it some thought and I think I might brew up a pot of coffee and add it at bottling. It should add a unique flavor that should help differentiate this beer from your standard brown. I’m still deciding whether I want to cold brew or drip brew. Cold Brew has the advantage of not being bitter and allows you get a sweeter coffee flavor, but I don’t know if I want that for this beer.

Leave a Reply

 
