Relax, Don’t Worry, Have a Homebrew

One man’s journey to create the perfect beer…

New Fezziwig Ale, Take 2

Posted by ebrius on October 9, 2008

While I still have the taste fresh in my mind, I figured that I would draw up a second draft of my Christmas Ale, even though this won’t be brewed for probably a year or so:

8lb   Dry Light Malt Extract

.75lb CaraPils
.5lb  Canadian Honey Malt
.5lb  Crystal Malt (80-L)
.25lb Crystal Malt (120-L)

.5oz  Cascade    @ 60
.5oz  Chinook    @ 60
.5oz  Chinook    @ 30
.5oz  Willamette @ 30
.5oz  Willamette @ 10
1oz   Willamette @ DH

All Steeped for 30 minutes after flame out
1 oz Ginger, Grated
3 Oranges, Peeled and Quartered
5 Cinnamon Sticks
3 Whole Nutmegs
4 Whole Cloves

Other:
1 tsp Irish Moss @ 15

Yeast:
Wyeast American Ale II 1272

Priming Sugar:
TBD

OG:  1.076, FG: 1.019, ABV: 7.7%
IBU: ~55
SRM: 12

Edit: I decided to take out the two pounds of honey and replace it completely with DME, this raises the ABV a little bit, which then lowers the IBUs, color stays about the same

Edit 2: I’m thinking of adding a little vanilla to this, or maybe oak age it to try something a little different.

Leave a comment